Updated 9/6/2017
When replacing an item, it is important to retain the circulation history and order information for the replaced item. Therefore, we cannot delete or overwrite the original item record.
Acquisitions will create a new item when it is ordered. Make sure this new item record is on the same holding record as the replaced item record. This is especially critical for EAST items, which must be attached to the holding record with the retention note. You may need to move the new item and order from a brief bibliographic record to the full record of the replaced item.
The replaced item should be suppressed in the OPAC. An item process status of MR - Missing, replaced or DW - Damaged, withdrawn will be suppressed. Change any item process status of replaced items to Missing, replaced if IPS says Long overdue, replaced or Reported missing.
Example: Sys No 3214614
EAST replacements
It is critical for the new item to be on the same holding as the replaced item so it receives the same retention note. If the new item has different bibliographic information from the replaced item, let the Cataloging Librarian know so the correct edition can be purchased.
If replacing a damaged EAST item, when cataloging the replacement, change the original item status from CO to DW. If replacing a missing EAST item, when cataloging the replacement, make sure the original item status is MR.
Replace all EAST items regardless of collection, if possible. If no replacement is possible, alert the Cataloging Librarian to renegotiate EAST commitments.
Patron-replaced items
Items come directly to cataloging; there is no need for Acquisitions to approve the items.
Open the item record in the catalog. Change the item process status of replaced items to Missing, replaced to retain the Circ history.
Catalog the new item record and link it to the existing holding record.
Faculty Publications (3/5/2017)
The library obtains two copies of faculty publications: one for stacks and one for the special collections. If only one copy is obtained, place it in the stacks to maximize use. Stack copies of faculty publications should first go to the Faculty Exhibit. The exhibit should be weeded at the end of each semester. Attempt to maintain an equal number of Notre Dame and Loyola faculty publications.
Classification
Stacks copies are classified by LC. Special Collections copies are classified by faculty last name.
Cataloging
You will need to enter data into the bib record, then create a SuperHolding. (Example record: 4701677)
Before generating a SuperHolding for a record, ensure that the other cataloging processes are completed and that the book has a regular LOY holding. On the regular holding, the Collection will need to be changed to “FACEX” or “FACOL,” depending on which faculty collection it is going to.
1. Create one of the following fields in the bibliographic record:
2. If the faculty member’s name is readily available, create:
3. Save the record to the server (Ctrl+L)
4. From the Edit Actions menu, select Fix Record. When the "Choose Fixing Routine" box appears, select Create super-holding record for local notes and click OK. This fix routine removes the local field(s), identified by subfield 5 or 9, from the bibliographic record and creates a SuperHolding record containing those field(s).
5. Save the bib record to the server again (Ctrl+L) to save removal of the local fields.
6. After saving the record, you will see two separate Holding Records in the Navigation Tree
Processing
For Faculty Exhibit books: add an exhibit sticker and two faculty publication stickers, of the corresponding university, to the book. One university sticker goes on the inside of the back cover in the bottom left corner. The exhibit sticker and the other university sticker go on the spine of the book, above where the call number label will go. Put the exhibit sticker above the university sticker. If the book is a paperback, put down tape first, then the stickers, and then more tape. This will prevent the cover from being ripped if the sticker is removed.
Special Collections copies only receive an item flag and tattle tape.
Local History and Publications (8/2010)
Receives in the holding record:
852 0/$bLNRAREBK$kLocal HIstory and Publications$h(LC Class Number)$i(LC Cutter Number)
Juvenile books will have "j" as the target audience.
Keep covers and protect with mylar. Faculty responses:
"The covers are a valuable part of the book and should continue to be kept."
"Yes, there is a lot to gain from the book covers, especially with those that are illustrated a great deal and have more on them than the hardcover of the book. We often ask children to identify title, author and illustrator (if applicable), and may also have them make predictions based on what they see. As you know, children’s books are so visual, so holding onto anything that the publishers/authors have added is a good practice."
Barcode the book as well as the cover.
Add JUV to the label.
Juvenile Books (3/5/2017)
Use $k JUV in the call number to print a juv label.
Retain the book covers and protect with mylar. Use a double barcode on the protective cover and the front of the book.
Approved 07/07/03
Subject headings
In the bibliographic record the genre heading "Feature films" is used with foreign feature films being given the additional headings "Feature films-[country]" and "Foreign films-[country]". Items for the hearing impaired are given the genre headings "Video recordings for the hearing impaired" and "Films for the hearing impaired" as they are for all DVDs or videos. If a DVD or video is based on a book, the first subject heading should be author's name followed by the genre subheading "Film and video adaptations". For Shakespeare plays adapted to film, the first subject heading would be "Shakespeare, William, [dates].[Title of play]-Film and video adaptations.
Call numbers
All feature films, including TV series, are given the call number PN 1997 with a Cutter for title. If a foreign feature film, the Cutter is for the English language title. The only exception is with Shakespeare plays turned feature film. These are given the correct PR call number, followed by A23 for filmed version and a Cutter for the director.