Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Web Sites
Always check with your instructor before including resources from the Web in your research project. He or she will want to know that you have properly evaluated any information that you may use.
The websites linked from this page have all been selected by a librarian, but you will still need to evaluate their content to determine if it is reliable and relevant to your research.
Consider the following elements:
Contact a librarian if you'd like help determining if a website is reliable or not.
Look for the HONcode
When evaluating a website, look for the HONcode at the bottom of the page. The Health on the Net Foundation is a non-profit organization whose mission is to evaluate online health information. If a website applies for certification and meets the criteria set up by this organization, it is given a HONcode seal which is displayed on the website's footer.
Click here for more information about the HONcode.
Pharmacy Associations & Organizations
Pharmacy Health Literacy Resources
The following sites provide information and guidance on health literacy, an important aspect of pharmacy practice. These resources can help you learn more about health literacy in the context of pharmacy and how to assess your patients' health literacy.
Other Drug Databases and Websites
Drug Information Portal
Provides access to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
Provides drug information, intravenous drug dilution standards and online chemical dosing calculators for health care professionals.
An online drug index offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand name and generic drugs, organized in A-Z list.
Provides information from FDA-approved package inserts and new information from the FDA.
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
FDA website that provides ratings of bioequivalence. Search by active ingredient, proprietary names, patent, applicant holder, or application number. Includes a current listing of approved generic products.
European Medicines Agency (EMA)
The European equivalent of the FDA: responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision, and safety monitoring of medicines in the EU.
The Canadian equivalent of the FDA: ensures that high-quality health services are accessible, and works to reduce health risks
Electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC)
The eMC contains up to date, easily accessible information about medicines licensed for use in the UK
Published by the World Health Organization (WHO) to achieve global harmonization of quality specifications for selected pharmaceutical products, excipients and dosage forms
WHO Drug Information
Provides an overview of topics of current relevance relating to drug development and regulation
International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP)
Global body representing pharmacy and pharmaceutical scientists around the world