Research Guides: Research Data Management: Find

Finding Data

Identifying and locating sources of existing data can be important for a variety of reasons, including: asking new questions or providing a new analysis of the data, comparing results from various studies, replicating and validating previous results, developing or testing computational models, and extending a study across time, geography, or other variables by incorporating data from multiple datasets.

The resources listed below can help you find relevant datasets for use in your research. Many also serve as repositories if you are interested in a place to deposit and share your own research data.

re3data - A global registry of research data repositories covering a wide variety of academic subjects in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Sherpa Juliet - Enables researchers and librarians to see funders' conditions for open access publication and is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning research funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving.

Fairsharing - Can be used to find both domain and generalist repositories as well as those recommended by specific journals, funders, and organizations.

OpenDOAR - A curated and authoratative list of academic open access repositories (over 2,600 listings).

Open Access Directory of Data Repositories - Lists of open access data repositories for a wide range of subject areas.

Library Databases with data sets:

Data Planet (Sage Data) This link opens in a new window
Now known as Sage Data!
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics in Data Planet. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), an international organization of colleges and universities which provide access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data in the areas of political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law occurring in over 130 countries. Special archives on health and medical care, education, aging, criminal justice and substance abuse and mental health available.

Note: First-time registration is required for use. You must use your Loyola or Notre Dame email address for this account.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Mergent Intellect also includes comprehensive data offerings of North American census data. This includes the latest census data by zip code, MSA or Industry. Content includes income per household, average house value, population breakdown and persons per household. Also take advantage of Mergent Intellect’s Job Search Solution feature to view opportunities and job listings.
Policy Map This link opens in a new window
An online mapping and GIS tool with data on a wide variety of topics including demographics, real estate, health, jobs, and more. Create, save, download, customized maps and tables, or upload your own data to map.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Online Edition This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.