Skip to Main Content

Resources for Community-Engaged Learning and Scholarship

Library Maps

Seeker and USMAI Catalog

Seeker is the search box on the library home page. It retrieves books and media from the Loyola Notre Dame Library (LNDL) catalog, articles from some of the Library's databases, as well as books from the University System of Maryland & Affiliated Institutions (USMAI) consortium, through which LNDL has access to 10 million items. Searches can be limited by location and type of publication.  For books, start by entering "Service Learning."  Then limit the results (see left side of screen) to LNDL Books and Videos to retrieve only those items available from LNDL. Below are some items retrieved from that search.


Books recommended by Loyola's Center for Community, Service, and Justice:


Additional books that focus on community-engaged learning: 

Ebsco eBook Collection

In Ebsco eBook Collections, enter your search like this: "Service Learning." These titles were retrieved by that search:

NOTE: There is one series on service learning in this database. Enter AAHE's Series on Service Learning  in the Disciplines in the search box to retrieve items in the series.

Ebooks

LNDL has both print and ebooks on service learning. Although ebooks are listed in the catalog and Seeker, you can limit your search  to ebooks only in LNDL's primary ebook databases.

To access the ebook databases:

  1. Start at the library home page.
  2. Put the cursor on the Search tab at the top left.
  3. Select Ebooks.
  4. Select either of the databases listed.

TIP:  Click here for information about downloading ebooks

Ebook Central (Proquest)

In the database, Ebook Central (Proquest), if your search term is a phrase, enclose it it quotation marks. 

Here is a sampling of ebooks retrieved by searching "service learning."

The Academic, Social, and Psychological Impacts of Service Learning by Joyce Duncan and Teresa Brooks Taylor 

Call Number: ebook

Publication Date: 2015

Service Learning in the Community: The Cultural Implications of Positive Change by Joyce Duncan and Teresa Brooks Taylor

Call number: ebook;

Publication Date: 2015

NOTE: There are three series relating to service learning in this database. Enter the searches below to retrieve items in the series:

"Service Learning in the Disciplines Series"

"IUPUI Series on Service Learning Research"

"Service Learning for Civic Engagement Series"