Disability Studies

The Disability History Museum hosts a library of virtual artifacts, education curricula, and museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.

The DRILM collection at the University of California - Berkeley consists of more than 100 oral histories with leaders and shapers of the disability rights and independent living movement from the 1960s onward and an extensive archive of personal papers of activists and records of key organizations.

Oral history interviews from the British Library collections that chart the experiences of disabled people.

It's Our Story is a national initiative to make disability history public and accessible. It includes more than 1,300 video interviews from disability leaders across the country collected since 2005.

A joint effort between The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston, the American Archive of Public Broadcasting aims to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years. The first phase of this long-range project was completed in late 2016, and included the creation of this online archive of over 7,000 historic public radio and television programs available for streaming, with more content added as the project continue.

DPLA contains a rich variety of photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more, all immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.

This historical newspaper collections provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Newspapers included in this collection include: Baltimore Afro American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1992); New York Times (1851-2014); Washington Post (1887-2001); and Wall Street Journal (1889-2000).