Research Guides: Country / International Research: International News

International News Sources

Reporters Without Borders (RSF) World Press Freedom Index
RSF's World Press Freedom Index aims to compare the level of press freedom enjoyed by journalists and media in 180 countries and territories.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes resources formerly found in LexisNexis. Search for a topic or current event across a variety of sources, including news articles, legal documents, and business sources. Browse by subjects, such as criminal justice or political science. Nexis Uni includes international news and newspapers and you can filter by country of publication.

Al Jazeera (English)
Al Jazeera English is a 24-hour English-language news channel operating under Al Jazeera Media Network, which is partially funded by the government of Qatar

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. These resources present an unmatched, comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications.

ABYZ News Links
A simple portal to over 18,800 online news sources from around the world. Primarily concerned with newspapers, but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
BBC World Service
The world’s leading international broadcaster according to its website. Transmits programs in over 30 languages.
The Big Project: Worldwide News in English
Resource that links to newspapers worldwide that publish editions in English. Coverage by region includes the UK, Europe, the Americas, Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific, Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
The International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) is a project to preserve and improve access to world newspapers. It includes a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for newspapers around the world in more than 150 countries. Many of the newspaper archives are made freely available online.
Mideast Wire
Mideast Wire contains English translations of news from Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab diaspora.
SCOLA
SCOLA provides access to television and radio broadcasts in their original languages from more than fifty different countries with accompanying English-language transcripts. Content includes current international news, variety programs, a Chinese teaching channel (educational and cultural programming from the People's Republic of China), and programs from emerging nations.
Newspaper Map
Map of the world with links to newspapers in various geographic locations. Includes information about the language of the newspaper.
Zona Latina
Listing of newspapers by country in Latin America, compiled by Zona Latina.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 500 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.