Religious Studies & Theology

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion.

A digital repository of primary historic religious materials from the major theological libraries in the United States, the expanding site includes rare religious images, the letters of John Wesley, beautiful photographs of Islamic practices and rituals, maps related to the expansion of Christianity and early papyri from Egypt of portions of the Old and New Testament.

Catholic statistics: numbers for vocations, seminary enrollments, priests and vowed religious, parishes, Mass attendance, schools and the Catholic population.

Freely available archive of online sacred texts for a variety of religions.

The St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology is a nascent online, free-to-access encyclopaedia of the highest academic standards, treating the full discipline of theology with rigour and clarity.

An extensive meta-index of the world's major religious traditions, clearly organized with easy access links to thousands of full-text documents.

A multilingual database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century. Includes citations, abstracts, subject categories, and direct links to books, book chapters, journal articles, book reviews, and other works related to the study of Jesuit history, spirituality, educational heritage, and pedagogy.

Comprehensive, indexed site of elements of Catholic faith and practice, containing scholarship, historical information, opinion and Catholic advocacy. Of note is the inclusion of the Catholic Encyclopedia and St. Thomas Aquinas' Summa Theologica.

A division of Torrey's resources, these are links to resources about New Testament times and places, with emphasis on the Greco-Roman world & Palestine under Roman rule.

Developed by the scholars at Tyndale House, Cambridge, and the Evangelical Research Library near Cambridge University in England, this site includes a reverse interlinear for the ESV, cross-reference links, and a collection of older commentaries. This site also has research texts like the Samaritan Pentateuch, Dead Seas Scrolls, and Greek and Latin resources in the original languages and in English.

Parallel Texts in Matthew, Mark & Luke

Assortment of commentaries and other resources, arranged by Bible book, designed to help the practicing clergyman prepare sermons, but also useful to students and scholars.

The most comprehensive site for online resources related to the Catholic tradition with over 8,000 links. Excellent topical organization for term paper research; contains all the major Vatican and theological documents.

Many links to resources for understanding the Bible and the times it depicts

This meta-index from Georgetown provides a section on all the official Catholic sites available in the United States, particularly strong for its diocesan and parish documents section. Also provides excellent full-text access to historical and contemporary Jesuit documents and records.

A vast collection of Buddhism resources, including general information, an "Ebook Library," a "World Buddhist Directory," audio files, and a "BuddhaZine."

Information on Buddhist concepts and teachings, links to Buddhist texts and selected Web sites.

Contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published between 1901-1906, and contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.