Skip to Main Content

Creating Stable Links to Items in Databases

Ebook Central (ProQuest)

  1. Select Share Link to Book, located on the left-hand side menu.
  2. A pop-up window will appear. Copy the link from that window.
  3. Once you have copied the link, add LNDL's proxy prefix to make it accessible from off-campus.
  4. Library Prefix:  http://proxy-ln.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=
  5. Your complete URL will look like this:  http://proxy-ln.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/loyola/detail.action?docID=415101
  6. You can also paste the stable URL into the LNDL Link Creator to automatically have the appropriate link created for you.

Screenshot of Ebook Central (ProQuest) Share link

 

 

Screenshot of adding LNDL prefix to Ebook Central share link

EBSCO Databases

  1. Click into the full record for the article.
  2. Locate the Permalink button in the right hand column.
  3. Click on it and the permalink for the article will appear. Copy and paste it into your Moodle/Brightspace course.
  4. Note: EBSCO will provide permalinks for records that do not contain the full text of an article as well as those that do. Please make sure there is a full-text article available when you link to a record. 

Gale/Cengage

  1. Locate the Get Link button in the upper right corner.
  2. Copy and paste the link located in the bookmark pop-up window.
  3. Add the library's proxy prefix to the URL to enable access from both on and off campus.
  4. Library prefix: http://proxy-ln.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=
  5. The resulting URL should look like http://proxy-ln.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A604896422/AONE?u=loyoland_main&sid=AONE&xid=0a9a1e9a
  6. You can also paste the stable URL into the LNDL Link Creator to automatically have the appropriate link created for you.

Screenshot of location of Get Link button Gale databases

 

HathiTrust

  1. Locate the item you want to link to and select the Full View option.
  2. Copy the Permanent Link provided under the Share menu on the left side, and paste into your course page.

 

 

HeinOnline

Iter

  1. Click the title of the record to pop up the item details.
  2. Locate the Permanent Link button in the upper right hand corner of the pop up window.
  3. Click on it and the permalink for the article will appear in a second pop up window. Copy and paste it into your Moodle/Brightspace course.
  4. Note: Iter will provide permalinks for records that do not contain the full text of an article as well as those that do. Please make sure there is a full-text article available when you link to a record. 

 

 

JSTOR

  1. Click into the full record for the article in JSTOR.
  2. Locate the Stable URL listed under the title.
  3. Copy and paste the URL into your Moodle/Brightspace course.
  4. Add the library's proxy prefix to the URL to enable access from both on and off campus.
  5. Library prefix: http://proxy-ln.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=
  6. The resulting URL should look like http://proxy-ln.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43256039
  7. You can also paste the stable URL into the LNDL Link Creator to automatically have the appropriate link created for you.

Screenshot of location of stable link in JSTOR database

Library of Catholic Thought