Library Impact Dashboard: Text Versions of Infographics

Artificial Intelligence

AI in Higher Education

• Stimulate Creativity

  • Idea generation

  • Provide templates

• Research assistance

  • Suggest search terms

  • Summarize large volumes of data

• Learning assistant

  • Personalized tutoring

  • Simplifying concepts

  • Specialized support for students with disabilities and English language learners

AI at LNDL

• AI Literacy
  • AI Research Guide
  • AI Literacy sessions to educate students about the use of AI in research
  • Online tutorials in AI Literacy available in Moodle (Loyola) and Brightspace (Notre Dame)
• Archives
  • Using AI tool, Transkribus, to analyze handwritten records
  • Exhibit planning and collection development assisted by ChatGPT
• Collections
  • AI generated beta services and AI integrated into databases
  • Publishers partnering to train AI models
  • Restrictive licensing terms limiting use of AI
• Scholarly Communications
  • Education on the implications of AI in scholarly creation and publication
    • AI clauses in publication contracts
    • Understanding how copyright law views AI

LNDL's Strategy

• IDEA - Enhancing IDEA content in STEM collection to support campus IDEA initiatives
• Student Success - Supporting curriculum goals for information, digital, data, and primary source fluency
• Digital Transformation - Adding VR, 3D, and streaming content to support faculty teaching; digital scholarship faculty partnerships
• Scholarly Research - LNDL and Cambridge University Press agreement eliminating open access publishing fees

Partnerships

• Eastern Academic Scholars' Trust (EAST) - 10 million unique items
• University System of Maryland & Affiliated Institutions (USMAI) - 10.5 million items immediately available via LNDL's catalog
• Center for Research Libraries Global Resources Network (CRL) - 5.5 million resources and 250K archive files (map graphic showing locations of all CRL participating libraries spread widely across the United States and Canada)
• OCLC - Library data and resource sharing with access to data from 10,000+ libraries worldwide

Research Support

• User privileges at 19 MICUA and USMAI libraries in the Baltimore area
• Students and faculty can access AJCU chat service 24/7
• Faculty grants for new material through CRL
• Access to Global Interlibrary Loan
• USMAI systems support and access to core operational technology

Engaged Learning

Teaching Opportunities and Student Success

• Experiential learning through Archives instruction increased 61% from FY22 to FY23
• Library Instruction directly engaged 4,101 students in FY23
• Technology consultations increased 128% from FY22 to FY23

Consortial collection strategies provide diverse resources and increase capacity to deliver transformative research and learning experiences

LNDL Scholarly Engagement: Publishing, Presentations, and Service Fiscal Years 2018-2022

LNDL Staff Involvement

61% of full-time staff presenting, publishing, and involved in service

Presentations by the Nubmers

• 41 conference presentations
• 8 co-presenters from other libraries
• 28 unique conferences presented at

Presentation and Publication Topics

• Accessibility
• Archives
• Assessment
• Communication
• Copyright
• Digital Preservation
• Digital Scholarship
• DEI
• Innovation
• Instruction
• Interlibrary Loan
• Leadership
• Library Spaces
• Makerspace
• Partnerships
• Shared Collections
• Technology
• User Experience

Service by the Numbers

• 19 local committees
• 12 national committees

Specialized Training

• Data science
• Digital archives
• Futures thinking
• Leadership
• Rare books

Library Orientations and Partnerships

This fall LNDL staff reached 1,507 students, faculty, and staff at 23 orientation and partnership sessions.

Participants & Locations

• 1,158 LUM students
• 247 NDM students
• 62 LUM faculty
• 40 NDM faculty
• 7 virtual sessions
• 16 in-person sessions

New Interactive Library Orientation Activities

• 360 Tour Scavenger Hunt
• Button Making
• Amazing Race Competition
• LIghtboard Tutorial

Changes from Fall 2019 to Fall 2021

• 5 new partners
• 15 new sessions
• 230% increase in participants in the library building

Fall 2021 Partners

• Undergraduate, graduate, and faculty library orientations
• Notre Dame Student Engagement
• Notre Dame Graduate Programs
• Loyola Admissions
• Loyola Ignatius Scholars Program
• Loyola Messina Program
• Loyola Students-Athlete Support Services

LNDL supports the research, teaching, and learning of faculty and students. We are here to help you plan your Fall courses. Contact your library liaison for help.

The Virtual Library Always Open.

While the library building has been closed during COVID19, library staff have been working to support you.

Remote help by the numbers:

• 406 questions answered by LNDL staff.

• 659 3D printed PPE delivered to OpenWorks Baltimore.

• 26 synchronous and asynchronous library classes taught.

Remote Resources by the Numbers:

• Over 66 collections were made freely available by publishers during the COVID-19 outbreak.
• Over 1,285 articles and book chapters were requested through Interlibrary Loan.
• Up 247% - 100,300 minutes of streaming videos were watched this spring compared to 29,892 minutes last spring.

Stressbusters Exam Period Activity:

• Over 400 people participated in bingo games, May Madness: A Tournament of Books, an at home yoga class and LNDL's first book club meeting.

We are here to help you plan your Summer and Fall courses. Contact your library liaison for help. 

Research and Technology Services Fall 2020 Instruction to Loyola University Maryland

LUM Information Literacy, Technology, Copyright, and Archives Classes Fall 2018-2020

• 2018 - 67 classes
• 2019 - 96 classes
• 2020 - 70 classes

Fall 2020 Instruction by the Numbers

• 50 copyright instruction participants
• 92 participants in virtual technology pop-up classes
• 38 classes with both live and self-directed instruction

LUM Participants in Fall 2020 Classes

• 1,445 students were taught by Information Literacy, Technology, Copyright, and Archives Library staff
• 1,239 students received Information Literacy Instruction in 58 classes

Student reactions to an Information Literacy and Technology class

• "The different tools and techniques presented today were so interesting! It goes to show how many different ways and outlets we can use to research and present our research..."
• "...this helped me understand so many cool and nice features we can use and options we have in order for us to expand our horizons of understanding and knowledge..."

New forms of remoted instruction were viewed over 855 times

• The Copyright Information Center created self-paced tutorials for online teaching
• Librarians taught Information Literacy synchronously over Zoom as well as asynchronously with online learning tools
• Technology Services created 15 videos about Innovation Station technologies

New Departments Received Asynchronous Instruction

• 2018 and 2019 
  • Nursing
  • Education
  • Copyright
  • Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
• 2020
  • Management
  • Innovation Station
  • Communications
  • Biology
  • Psychology
  • Nursing
  • Education
  • Copyright

New Methods of Assessing Student Learning Outcomes

145 students responded to a survey about what they learned in LUM library instruction sessions. These are some of the preliminary observations:

• Pop-Up Class Participants learned how to use Innovation Station technologies to present information in new ways
• First Year Students in WR100 sessions can identify and access peer-reviewed scholarly resources
• Undergraduates in Management Capstone Classes are able to match their information need with the right library resource
• Graduate Education Students feel confident formulating a search strategy an choosing key terms

LNDL supports the research, teaching, and learning for faculty and students during remote learning. We are here to help you plan your Spring courses. Contact your library liaison for help. 

Research and Technology Services Fall 2020 Instruction to Notre Dame of Maryland University

NDM Information Literacy, Technology, Copyright, and Archives Classes Fall 2018-2020

• 2018 - 46 classes
• 2019 - 49 classes
• 2020 - 33 classes

Fall 2020 Instruction by the Numbers

• 50 copyright instruction participants
• 92 participants in virtual technology pop-up classes
• 38 classes with both live and self-directed instruction

LUM Participants in Fall 2020 Classes

• 488 students were taught by Information Literacy, Technology, Copyright, and Archives Library staff
• 465 students received Information Literacy Instruction in 31 classes

New forms of remoted instruction were viewed over 855 times

• The Copyright Information Center created self-paced tutorials for online teaching
• Librarians taught Information Literacy synchronously over Zoom as well as asynchronously with online learning tools
• Technology Services created 15 videos about Innovation Station technologies

New Departments Received Asynchronous Instruction

• 2018 and 2019 
  • Nursing
  • Education
  • Copyright
  • Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
• 2020
  • Management
  • Innovation Station
  • Communications
  • Biology
  • Psychology
  • Nursing
  • Education
  • Copyright

LNDL supports the research, teaching, and learning for faculty and students during remote learning. We are here to help you plan your Spring courses. Contact your library liaison for help. 

LNDL Outreach: Loyola University Maryland

Student Success Ecosystem

• Career Center
• Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship
• Common Text
• Disability and Accessibility Services
• Emerging Scholars
• Hauber Research Fellowship Program
• Graduate Student Services
• Ignatius Scholars Program
• Julio Fine Arts Gallery
• Messina
• University Innovation Fellows
• Writing Center

Research & Teaching Excellence

• Faculty Writing Retreats
• Office of Digital Teaching and Learning
• Office of Research and Sponsored Programs

Institutional Impact & Community Well-being

• Admissions
• ALANA Services
• Alumni Engagement
• Campus Ministry
• CCSJ
• Counseling Center
• Dining Services
• Esports Club
• Fitness and Aquatic Center
• Karson Institute
• Office of Sustainability
• Robotics Club
• Sewing Club
• Student Activities & Student Life
• Student Athletic Services
• Student Government Association
• Student Support and Wellness Promotion
• Tabletop Gaming Club
• Transfer Student Organization

Community Partners

• Baltimore Collegetown Network
• Baltipreneurs
• CLIA Youth Voices for Community Change
• Cristo Rey
• Dent Education
• Down Syndrome Association of America
• Enoch Pratt Free Library
• Ivy Bookshop

LNDL Outreach: Notre Dame of Maryland University

Student Success Ecosystem

• Career Center
• Common Read
• Damozel
• English Language Institute
• Graduate Student Services
• IMPRINT
• Nancy Kreiter Research Day
• Office of Accessibility
• Student Success Center

Research & Teaching Excellence

• Faculty Resource Center
• Faculty Writing Retreats

Institutional Impact & Community Well-being

• Admissions
• Advancement
• Alumni Relations
• Art Hive
• A Child's Place
• Counseling Services
• Mission & Ministry
• Service & Community Engagement
• Student Government Association
• Student Life & Student Activities