Useful Books

Patent Searching by Long Nguyen (Editor); Matthew Rodgers (Editor); Landon IP Team Staff (Editor); David Hunt (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook - click title to access
Publication Date: 2007-02-02
Nolo's Patents for Beginners by David Pressman; Richard Stim
Call Number: KF3114.6 .P737 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Essentials of Patents by Andy Gibbs; Bob DeMatteis
Call Number: T333 .G53 2002
Publication Date: 2003-01-06
Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers by Thomas T. Gordon; Arthur S. Cookfair
Call Number: T339 .G67 1995
Publication Date: 1995-07-19
Information Sources in Patents by Stephen Adams
Call Number: Ebook - click title to access
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
The Patent Process by Craig Hovey
Call Number: KF3114 .H68 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-25

Useful Resources

Patent & Trademark Resource Center - College Park
The website for Maryland's designated Patent & Trademark Resource Center, located in the Engineering & Physical Sciences Library at the University of Maryland College Park.

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

USPTO
The main website of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, which provides resources on intellectual property policy, patent laws, how to search for and apply for patents, and much more.
Patent Policies and International Treaties
Policies and international agreements related to patents and intellectual property.
7-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy Guide
A basic step-by-step guide with screenshots to help you search for a patent using the USPTO website.

Patent Search Databases

USPTO Patent Search Databases
Multiple databases for searching patents, including the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT) and the USPTO Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT).

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
A research tool providing chemical and related scientific information. In addition to patent and journal references, the database provides information on organic and inorganic compounds and sequences; chemical reactions; and chemical sources.
Note: First time registration is required for use. You must use your Loyola or Notre Dame email address for this account.

Espacenet
A free global patent searching database from the European Patent Office (EPO). Search patents in English, German, or French.
Google Patents
Google's patent search database. Records include PDFs of the patents and links to other patent databases such as USPTO and Espacenet.

Intellectual Property

What is Intellectual Property?

"Intellectual property (IP) refers to creations of the mind, such as inventions; literary and artistic works; designs; and symbols, names, and images used in commerce."

World Intellectual Property Organization. (n.d.). What is intellectual property? Retrieved from http://www.wipo.int/about-ip/en/

Idea Rights: A Guide to Intellectual Property by Howard C. Anawalt
Call Number: KF2979 .A745 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Open Innovation: The New Imperative for Creating and Profiting from Technology by Henry Chesbrough
Call Number: HD45 .C469 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
Global Dimensions of Intellectual Property Rights in Science and Technology by National Research Council Staff; Mitchel B. Wallerstein (Editor); Mary E. Mogee (Editor); Robin A. Schoen (Editor); International Affairs Office; Policy and Global Affairs Staff
Call Number: K1401 .A55 1992
Publication Date: 1993-01-01

Tutorials

How To Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search
A tutorial from the USPTO on the basics of patent searching in the U.S.
WIPO Patent Searching Tutorial
A 3-section tutorial from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) that covers patent basics, patent searching, and patent analysis.

CS/EG/PH 491: Technical Innovation in Entrepreneurship

USPTO Twitter Updates