Research Guides: NUR431 : Community Health Nursing: Community Health Nursing

Population-Based Care

65+ in the United States: 2010 (PDF)
P23-212 Current Population Reports: Special Studies, June, 2014; a full-text online report that requires Adobe Acrobat Reader to access.
Population Index Online
From Princeton; searchable database of articles on various population issues.

Public Health

The Virtual Public Health Center
A collection of links to many sources, part of Jim Martindale's Health Science Guide. Features the following sub-categories: Environment, Disaster, Epidemiology, and Safety.
Geographic Epidemiology
Using Geographic Methods to Understand Health Issues
Healthy People 2020
Health-Related Quality of Life
From the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Includes a section on Methods and Measures.
The Future of Public Health
By the Committee for the Study of the Future of Public Health; Division of Health Care Services; 240 pages, 1988; full-text online, from National Academies Press.
National Public Health Performance Standards Program
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Core Functions of Public Health Nursing

Image courtesy of Wisconsin Department of Health Services; click image above for more on the Public Health Intervention Wheel.

E-Books of Interest

Not on campus? No problem. You can access the following e-books from any computer, anywhere! Simply click on a book title and enter your Loyola or Notre Dame credentials.

This is just a sample of what the library has to offer; ask a librarian for help finding and accessing other books in print or online.

Healthy Places, Healthy People: A Handbook for Culturally Informed Community Nursing Practice by Dreher & Skemp
Call Number: E-book, click title to access
Healthy Places, Healthy People, 2nd Edition, provides public health nurses with a wide array of tools and knowledge necessary to evaluate and lead the improvement of a community s health. In many ways, it is a how to book a public health improvement strategy that can be applied to any community, at any time, to get the job of public health accomplished. -- Amazon.com
Public Health Nursing: Practicing Population-Based Care (2011) by Truglio-Londrigan & Lewenson
Call Number: E-book, click title to access
Public Health Nursing: Practicing Population-Based Care explores the scientific discipline of public health and in particular public health nursing. This public health nursing perspective is applied throughout the chapters and demonstrates how public health nurses use various interventions based on best evidence in their practice, both to protect and enhance the health of the public. -- Amazon.com
Community-Based Health Interventions: Principles and Applications (2010) by Guttmacher, Thomas, Kelly, & Ruiz-Janecko
Call Number: E-book, click title to access
Community-Based Health Interventions covers the skills necessary to change health in a community setting through the reduction of disease, disease conditions, and risks to health, as well as create a supportive environment for the maintenance of the behavior changes. --Amazon.com