NUR431 : Community Health Nursing

From the National Center for Health Statistics.

From the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics. Reports are available full-text online; some reports require Adobe Acrobat Reader.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

From the National Cancer Institute.

Searches the materials on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention World Wide Web site.

From the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Includes statistics.

Current Population Survey and Current Population Reports

Designed to provide a graphical "accurate description of how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States."

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

From the CDC Wonder Search Engine of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

"... interactive data tool, allows users to explore the data and technical information related to the Healthy People 2020 objectives."

From FastStats, National Center for Health Statistics. Includes links to the data sources.

From the World Health Organization.

Census 2000 Special Reports from the U.S. Census Bureau, November 2000.

From the Department of Health and Human Services.

Includes sections on Questionnaires and Data Collection.

Provided as a public service by StatSoft, Inc.

A downloadable software program from the Centers for Disease Control.
Epidemiology for the Uninitiated From the British Medical Journal, full-text online.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. A well organized site that provides access to statistics by topic, such as Men's Health, Women's Health, Allergies, and much more.

A gateway to statistics available through U.S. agencies.

By Dan Melnick, PhD; from the National Library of Medicine.

From the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute.

By the Committee for the Study of the Future of Public Health; Division of Health Care Services; 240 pages, 1988; full-text online, from National Academies Press.

From the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

From the National Center for Health Statistics. "...tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults."

Model designed by Nola J. Pender.

From the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Includes a section on Methods and Measures.

Site includes access to previous years, online, from 1993 forward. Also provides Infant Mortality Rates from Health, United States, 2004 (downloadable PDF format).

From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Includes information on health insurance coverage, HIV/AIDS, minorities, health providers, and women's health.

From "Vital Statistics of the United States, Volume II, Mortality, Part A, Section 6 contains life tables. This section is also issued annually as a separate publication. The life tables provide life expectancy data"; requires Adobe Acrobat Reader for viewing.

From the National Center for Health Statistics - NCHS.

From the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute.

National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey - NHANES;

National Health Interview Survey - NHIS;

and the National Hospital Discharge and Ambulatory Surgery Data.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

July 2018

Article from MMWR Weekly, January 14, 2000 / 49(1);1-4.

From the U.S. Department of Labor.

From Princeton; searchable database of articles on various population issues.

From the University of Michigan; includes links to specific population data resources under "Data Pages."

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Data provided by the U.S. Government Administration for Community Living

Patricia J. Mrazek and Robert J. Haggerty, Editors; Committee on Prevention of Mental Disorders, Institute of Medicine; 636 pages, 1994. Available online from the National Academies Press.

Online tools from the American Heart Association.

Information from the National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

P23-212 Current Population Reports: Special Studies, June 2014.

Data on population from the U.S. Census Bureau. May search by state, county, city, town, or zip code.

Includes a section on State Rankings.

From the National Center for Health Statistics.

The major epidemiological resource from the National Cancer Institute.

An article from MMWR Weekly, February 05, 1999 / 48(04);79-82.

Online information from Infoplease.

From the larger site on the Tuskegee Syphilis Study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Includes actual tests and programs that can be used interactively online.

A collection of links to many sources, part of Jim Martindale's Health Science Guide. Features the following sub-categories: Environment, Disaster, Epidemiology, and Safety.

Includes state health population data.

"Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System is an interactive system that provides customized injury-related mortality data useful for research and for making informed public health decisions"; from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Available from the Office of Research on Women's Health.

From Harvard School Of Public Health. "...you can find out your risk of developing five of the most important diseases in the United States and get personalized tips for preventing them."