Research Guides: NUR431 : Community Health Nursing: Consumer Health Resources

EVALUATING HEALTH INFORMATION FROM THE WEB

The Internet is where most people go to find health information. When working with the public, take the opportunity to teach them how to evaluate which health resources they can trust and which they should stay away from.

When evaluating health information, always look at the following factors:

Sponsorship
Currency
Content
Audience

To learn more about evaluating health information watch the following tutorials:

National Library of Medicine: Evaluating Internet Health Information

Medical Library Association: User's Guide to Finding and Evaluating Health Information on the Web

Finding Consumer Health Information from Library Databases

Many of the library's Drug Information databases also contain patient education handouts that are written to a 3rd to 4th grade reading level. Try using the following resources to find consumer information on drugs or diseases:

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database collection which contains resources on drug information, alternative therapies, emergency medicine and protocols, toxicological management, and patient care handouts. It is used to support clinical decision-making and high-quality patient care.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Provides point-of-care drug information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets.
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new window
Provides information on drugs, drug interactions, natural medicines and drug news updates, and also contains handouts for patient education, counseling, and drug therapy management.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Drug compendium to fulfill the drug reference requirements for licensed pharmacies and to determine the appropriate use of drugs and biologics for cancer patients.

Note:For full access, first register for an account. Then, send an e-mail to askemail@loyola.edu indicating that you have registered and require a link for full access.

Consumer Health Resources

MEDLINEPlus
The premier consumer health information website created by the National Library of Medicine. It should be the first stop for all your consumer health questions (available in Spanish)
Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information in MEDLINEplus
Find information on both prescription and over-the-counter drugs, including side effects and dosage. (Available in Spanish)
Food and Drug Administration
CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention)
A division of the Department of Health and Human Services. The CDC is dedicated to promoting "health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability." Of special interest to the consumer are the resources about diseases, conditions, and other special topics arranged under "Health Topics A-Z," and "Travelers' Health," with health recommendations for travelers worldwide. There are also sections on health topics in the news and health hoaxes. Information is also available in Spanish.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Information on current and past clinical trials worldwide. Maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.
Healthfinder
Maintained by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Access to resources on the site is also available in Spanish.
Informedhealthonline
An evidence-based consumer and patient health site developed by the German Institute for Quality and Efficiency in Health Care.
KidsHealth
Provides doctor-approved health information about children from before birth through adolescence. Created by The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media, KidsHealth provides families with accurate, up-to-date, and jargon-free health information they can use.
Mayo Clinic
Provides quality health information written for the general public.
Cancer.gov
The official website for the National Cancer Institute (NCI).
NIH National Institute on Aging Health Information
Contains aging-related health information for family members and friends seeking reliable, easy to understand online health information.
AHFS Drug Information
Note: AHFS can be accessed two ways. 1. Click on the link above. Only one person can use this e-book at a time. AHFS can also be accessed in Lexi-Comp. Open Lexi-Comp, then click on "Indexes." Scroll down until you see AHFS DI.
HealthReach
HealthReach offers easy access to quality health information in many languages that healthcare providers can share with limited English proficiency individuals. HealthReach is also an important resource for health professionals and public health administrators seeking best practices and population-specific tools, such as cultural backgrounders and tips for effective use of interpreters.
Understanding Prescription Medication Labels
The label on your prescription bottle contains information from your doctor and your pharmacy about using your medication correctly. Use the guide to identify the key sections.