Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Style Guide

Chicago Style Guide

Other


Humanities Style

Author-Date Style
Thesis or Dissertation
N: 22. Mats Amundin, "Click Repetition Rate Patterns in Communicative Sounds from the Harbour Porpoise, Phocoena phocoena" (PhD diss., Stockholm University, 1991), 22-29, 35.
B: Amundin, Mats. "Click Repetition Rate Patterns in Communicative Sounds from the Harbour Porpoise, Phocoena phocoena." PhD diss., Stockholm University, 1991.
T: (Amundin 1991, 22-29, 35)
R: Amundin, Mats. 1991. "Click repetition rate patterns in communicative sounds from the harbour porpoise, Phocoena phocoena." PhD diss., Stockholm University.
 
Paper presented at a meeting or conference
N: 13. Brian Doyle, "Howling Like Dogs: Metaphorical Language in Psalm 59" (paper presented at the annual international meeting for the Society of Biblical Literature, Berlin, Germany, June 19-22, 2002).
B: Doyle, Brian. "Howling Like Dogs: Metaphorical Language in Psalm 59." Paper presented at the annual international meeting for the Society of Biblical Literature, Berlin, Germany, June 19-22, 2002.
T: (Doyle 2002)
R: Doyle, Brian. 2002. "Howling Like Dogs: Metaphorical Language in Psalm 59." Paper presented at the annual international meeting for the Society of Biblical Literature, June 19-22, in Berlin, Germany.
 
Web site
Web sites may be cited in running text ("On its Web site, the Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees states . . .") instead of in an in-text citation, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography or reference list. The following examples show the more formal versions of the citations; notes may be the only location. If an access date is required by your publisher or discipline, include it before the URL at the end of the citation, as in the second example below.
N: 11. Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees, "Evanston Public Library Strategic Plan, 2000-2010: A Decade of Outreach," Evanston Public Library, http://www.epl.org/library/strategic-plan-00.html.
B: Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees. "Evanston Public Library Strategic Plan, 2000-2010: A Decade of Outreach." Evanston Public Library. Accessed July 19, 2008. http://www.epl.org/library/strategic-plan-00.html
T: (Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees)
R: Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees. 2008. "Evanston Public Library Strategic Plan, 2000-2010: A Decade of Outreach." Evanston Public Library. http://www.epl.org/library/strategic-plan-00.html.
 
Weblog (blog) entry or comment
Blog entries or comments may be cited in running text ("In a comment posted to the Becker-Posner Blog on March 6, 2006, Peter Pearson noted . . .") instead of in a note or an in-text citation, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography or reference list as well. The following examples show the more formal versions of the citations. If an access date is required by your publisher or discipline, include it before the URL, as in the first example below.
N: 8. Peter Pearson, comment on "The New American Dilemma: Illegal Immigration," The Becker-Posner Blog, comment posted March 6, 2006, accessed march 28, 2006. http://www.becker-posner-blog.com/archives/
2006/03/ the_new_america.html#c080052.
B: Becker-Posner Blog, The. http://www.becker-posner-blog.com/.
T: (Peter Pearson, The Becker-Posner Blog, comment posted March 6, 2006)
R: Becker-Posner blog, The. http://www.becker-posner-blog.com/.
 
E-mail message
E-mail messages may be cited in running text ("In an e-mail message to the author on October 31, 2005, John Doe revealed . . .") instead of in a note or an in-text citation, and they are rarely listed in a bibliography or reference list. The following example shows the more formal version of a note.
N: 2. John Doe, e-mail message to author, October 31, 2005.
 
 
Item in public online database
Journal articles published in online databases should be cited as shown above, under "Article in an online journal." If an access date is required by your publisher or discipline, include it parenthetically at the end of the citation, as in the first example below.
N: 7. Pliny the Elder, The Natural History, ed. John Bostock and H. T. Riley, in the Perseus Digital Library, http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cgi-bin/ptext?lookup=Plin.+Nat.+1.dedication ( accessed November 17, 2005).
B: Perseus Digital Library. http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/.
T: (Pliny the Elder, Perseus Digital Library)
R: Perseus Digital Library. http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/.
Item in a commercial database
For items retrieved from a commercial database, add the name of the database and an accession number following the facts of publication. In this example, the dissertation cited above is shown as it would be cited if it were retrieved from ProQuest’s database for dissertations and theses.
N,B:Choi, Mihwa. "Contesting Imaginaires in Death Rituals during the Northern Song Dynasty." PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2008. ProQuest (AAT 3300426).
T:(Choi, 2008)
R:Choi, Mihwa. 2008. "Contesting Imaginaires in Death Rituals during the Northern Song Dynasty." PhD diss., University of Chicago. ProQuest (AAT 3300426).