Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Style Guide

Journal Articles - Guidelines

Changes to be noted in the reference format for articles:

  • Do not include database information for works obtained from most academic research databases, because works in these resources are widely available. Provide database information only when it is necessary to retrieve the cited work from that exact database. APA 7, 9.30
  • Include the issue number for all periodicals that have issue numbers. APA 7, 9.25
  • Many online periodicals publish articles without volume, issue, and/or page numbers or articles numbers. Omit these elements from the reference if they are not present in the cited work.
  • List up to twenty authors; if there are more than twenty authors, list the first nineteen followed by an ellipsis, then the last author.
  • If citing online article from a website with no DOI, omit "Retrieved from...." before URL.

Journal Article with DOI

Format:

Author, A. A. & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article, not italicized. Name of the Periodical, Capitalizing Important Words, volume number italicized(issue number not italicized), inclusive pages. DOI 

NOTE: The comma after the journal title is not italicized.

Veracini, L. (2018). Italian colonialism through a settler colonial studies lens. Journal of
         Colonialism &
Colonial History, 19(3), 59-87. https://doi.org/10.1353/cch.2018.0023

Journal Article without a DOI, with a nondatabase URL

Format:

Author, A. A. & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article, not italicized. Name of the Periodical, Capitalizing Important Words, volume

     number italicized(issue number not italicized), inclusive pages. URL

NOTE: The comma after the journal title is not italicized.

Ahmann, E., Tuttle, L. J., Saviet, M. & Wright, S. D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD coaching research: Implications for

     college students. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 31(1), 17-39. https:// www.ahead.org/professional-

     resources/publications/jped/archived-jped/jped-volume-31

Journal Article Retrieved from a Specialized Database

Provide database information in a reference only when it is necessary for readers to retrieve the cited work from that exact database. For example, if the database:

  • publishes original or proprietary works
  • contains items of limited circulation, i.e. dissertations, works in a university archives, works posted in governmental or institutional repositories, monographs published in ERIC (ERIC documents, not journal articles), or primary sources

Schmidt, L., Phelps, E., Friedel, Johannes, & Shokraneh, F. (2019). Acetylsalicylic acid (aspirin) for schizophrenia. Cochrane
     Database of Systematic Reviews.
https://doi.org/10.1002.14651858.CD012116