Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUS501 : Managing in Complex Environments: Scholarly Articles

What is Peer Review?

Your professor may say that you must use only peer-reviewed journal articles in your research assignment. But what does this mean?

Peer review is the process by which an article is approved for publication in a scholarly journal. Before acceptance in the journal, it must be reviewed by peer experts in the field to ensure that it meets a high standard of scholarship.

Think of peer review as a stamp of approval that lets you know that an article meets the accepted standards of its field.

How Do I Find the Full Text?

After completing your search for articles in one of the library's databases, you'll see several options for accessing the full text. View this guide for help with accessing the full text of an article.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that enables patrons affiliated with Loyola University and Notre Dame of Maryland University to request materials not owned by the Loyola/Notre Dame Library.

Library Databases

The Loyola/Notre Dame Library subscribes to a number of databases that can help you locate scholarly journal articles for your business research projects. Start with one or more of the databases listed below; contact a librarian if you'd like help using library databases.

See the "Distance Students" tab, above, for information on accessing databases from off campus.

 

Finding Journals