Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Founded in 1837, The Baltimore Sun is Baltimore's newspaper of record.
To view articles from the Sun, select from one of the two options below:
Baltimore Sun Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the newspaper (1990-present).
Baltimore Sun (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events around Baltimore during 1873-1992.
Baltimore Sun Newspaper (historical)
The Loyola ▪ Notre Dame Library also provides access to the Baltimore Sun from 1837-2004 on microfilm. These files cannot be viewed online; rather, they may be accessed with the use of the microfilm readers on the lower level of the library.
Please ask a librarian if you'd like help locating or accessing a particular issue or article on microfilm.
Regional Maryland News Sources
A searchable collection of local Maryland newspapers. Select Sources --> Browse Sources at left, then narrow down by location.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes resources formerly found in LexisNexis. Search for a topic or current event across a variety of sources, including news articles, legal documents, and business sources. Browse by subjects, such as criminal justice or political science. Nexis Uni includes international news and newspapers and you can filter by country of publication.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper. It is the largest newspaper published in Washington, D.C., the capital city of the United States, and has a particular emphasis on national politics. Click here to access Full-Text of this newspaper published from 1987-present.
The Baltimore Afro-American is the flagship newspaper of the Afro-American chain of newspapers.
Read more about the history of the Afro-American.
Baltimore Afro-American (current)
The current 4 weeks of this publication are shelved in the newspaper area on the 1st floor of the library. Older issues are discarded.
Baltimore Afro-American (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Baltimore Afro-American is the longest-running African-American family-owned newspaper in the United States. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events from 1893-1988.
Baltimore Afro-American (historical)
The Loyola/Notre Dame Library also provides access to the Baltimore Afro-American from 1935-1975 on microfilm. These issues may be access with the use of the microfilm readers on the lower level of the library.
Please ask a librarian if you'd like help locating a particular issue or article on microfilm.