Communication

Journalism:

• The Journalist's Toolbox: Sponsored by the American Press Institute, this site contains thousands of resources for journalists, editors, and other researchers. Searchable by keyword, or by using a pull-down menu of topics.

• Journalism Resources: A searchable collection of online resources for journalism, communication, and media law.

• American Rhetoric:A searchable collection of examples of American speeches, addresses and monologues

• Poynter Online: Maintained by the Poynter Institute, this site features articles on all areas of journalism, as well as other resources. Information on seminars is also available.

• The Reporter's Committee for Freedom of the Press: "A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to journalists since 1970." Provides up-to-date legal news on cases dealing with freedom of the press, and also provides publications on various legal topics. The site also provides contact information for journalists needing legal help.

• Project for Excellence in Journalism: "The Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism is a research organization that specializes in using empirical methods to evaluate and study the performance of the press. It is non-partisan, non-ideological and non-political."

• Newseum: An interactive museum of news and journalism.  

General Marketing:

• PromoProf - All Things Marketing: Marketing resource developed by Babson College's Marketing Department for students, faculty, and practitioners focused initially on marketing communications, but then broadened to "all things marketing."

• SRDS - Local Market Audience Analyst: Local Audience Market Analyst provides several tools for learning about your target markets: Market Profile Reports, Lifestyle Analysis Reports, Demographics Reports and PRIZM Reports.

• Claritas - You Are Where You Live: Provides a segmentation system defining every neighborhood in the U.S. by zipcode in terms of 66 distinct lifestyle types. Some useful free data; in-depth data requires purchase.

• VALS™: A marketing and consulting tool. The system identifies current and future opportunities by segmenting the consumer marketplace on the basis of the personality traits that drive consumer behavior.

Advertising:

• American Association of Advertising Agencies Directory of advertising agencies searchable by state, type of agency, size and other limiters. Also includes Association events, publications and more.

• AdCracker "An i-tool to create marketing and advertising concepts or campaigns."

• Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920:  Duke University Library collection of over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

• Ad Access This site presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

Public Relations:

• PR Daily News Public Relations news and marketing in the age of social media.

• All About Public Relations: Career, reference, and topic specific articles on public relations.

Understanding consumer behavior, demographics, marketing data, and culture is essential for developing strong brands, products, and services.  Here are several web resources that can be helpful in your research process:

Consumer Behavior:

• US Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics Information about consumers arranged in various demographic categories, including annual consumer expenditure reports, the consumer price index, and employment information.

• Consumer Expenditure Survey This Bureau of Labor Statistics program provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit characteristics (families, singles, etc.).

• Statistical Abstract of the United States Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of American life from the most recent (2012) back to 1878. 

• Survey of Consumers -- University of Michigan National data collection and analysis of social science data. You must register for full text.

Demographics:

• US Census Bureau Census 2000 and 2010 Official government source of demographic data.

• American FactFinder Find population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Search for demographics by specific place or ZIP code.

• The US Census update called American Community Survey The information is available by state but not yet by specific zipcode. Click on American Community Survey.

• The MARYLAND State Data Center Analysis of trends for social, economic and other characteristics and projections for population, housing, employment, labor force, and income for Maryland based on the census statistics from the American Community Survey. See http://www.census.gov/sdc/ for data centers in other states.

• Sperling's Best Places Detailed neighborhood profiles, including such data as population, housing, crime, education, religion, cost of living, and health, for every zipcode in the United States.

Industry

• US Department of Labor Standard Industrial Classification System: Site for SIC code descriptions by number or description.

• NAICS Index: NAICS code and comparison with the SIC code, also includes the 1997 economic census.

• Guide to Industry Research: A guide to conducting industry research created by the Library of Congress.

• Occupational Outlook Handbook: Information on training and education, earnings, job prospects and working conditions for a variety of industries. Updated every two years.

Country / International

• U.S. Commercial Service International Market Research:Searchable database containing market and industry information on foreign countries.

• International Business Statistics Database: Knowledge portal of industries and businesses all over the globe

• Global Resource Directory: Knowledge portal of industries and businesses all over the globe.

• European Commission Public Opinion Results of European public opinion surveys; includes archives.

• UNData Using UN Data, you can access statistical information on populations, demographics, trade, commodities, agriculture, employment, the environment, industry, education, tourism, and much more.