Communication

Reference books like encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical handbooks, and industry surveys provide useful starting point for any business research process. Specifically, reference materials can provide key information on people, place, events, and trends important for understanding a business topic.

LNDL print reference resources are located on the main floor of the library in the REF H section of the reference collection.

LNDL General Communication reference sources:

• Theory and Research in Mass Communication: Supplies information on the historical and theoretical context of mass communications as a field.

• Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods: Provides information about types of surveys, survey methods, ethical concerns and more.

Marketing / Advertising:

• Dictionary of Marketing Terms: Offers definitions of terms in marketing.

• Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing: Provides long definitions of topics and concepts in marketing.

• Handbook of Demographics for Marketing and Advertising: Provides background information on demographics and market segments.

• Handbook of Strategic Public Relations and Integrated Communications: Addresses the evolution of public relations since World War II, focusing on three stages: 1950s-60s, 1970s-80s, and the post-80s move toward integrated communications.

• Harvard Business Review on Marketing: Collects articles -- classics and some on new topics -- on marketing.

• On the Art of Writing Copy: Provides tips on writing effective copy for marketing, advertising and public relations.

Journalism:

• Encyclopedia of Journalism: Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.

• Encyclopedia of Television News: Contains over 300 entries on the people, concepts and issues related to broadcast news.

Unless otherwise noted, all books below are located in the Reference Stacks on the first floor of the library.

General Communication:

• Communication Yearbook Circulating Collection - Lower Level P87.C5974

• Women and Mass Communication - Lower Level P94.5.W65 L45 1991

Marketing / Advertising:

• Wall Street Journal Guide to Business Style and Usage PN4783.W26 2002

Journalism:

Search the Library Catalog by key word, title, author or subject to locate books in print and available as electronic resources.

Access LNDL quick hit communication books from the catalog by topic by searching for these keywords or combinations:

General:

• Communication AND Research
• Mass Communication Theory
• Communication AND Ethics
• Copyright Law

Marketing / Advertising:

• Advertising
• Advertising AND Ethics
• Brand Management
• Marketing
• Marketing AND Communication
• Marketing AND Demographics
• Marketing AND Ethics
• Marketing AND Global
• Marketing AND Public Relations
• Marketing AND Writing 
• Psychographics

Journalism:

• Broadcast Journalism
• Communication AND Radio
• Communication AND Television
• Global AND Journalism
• Journalism
• Journalism AND Ethics
• Writing AND Journalism

New Media:

• Digital Media
• Communication AND Social Media