Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication

A guide to resources in Communication, Marketing / Advertising, Journalism, and Digital Media.

Company, Industry, AND Country Research - Helpful Hints

  • The SIC (PDF - Standard Industrial Classification) Code and the NAICS (PDF - North American Industry Classification System) Code are two ways of organizing industry information; NAICS is an updated version of SIC. You can use either one to find out about your company's industry, including industry sales information, and major competitors.

    Note: If a company is involved in more than one industry, the primary SIC/NAICS code (the industry in which the company is most active) is always at the top of the list.

     

  • Don't forget company websites often provide insight into product, services, and financial performance through their press releases and annual reports. This information is often located on the "About Us" or "Investor Relations" pages of their website.

 

  • REMEMBER:  Research into smaller companies or privately held companies to find company, product, and financial information will often require additional research using newspaper, magazine and journal articles to close the gaps between broader industry information available in reports and articles from these recommended company, industry, and country databases.

 

Magazines and Journal Articles

Want to know the top journals in business/finance field?  Use ISI Web of Knowledge's Journal Citation Reports to locate the most cited and influential journals in your field.  You can then use our Journal Locator to locate the database to search for articles within a specific publication.

Remember magazine articles can provide access to trends and key players in the field but for in-depth research on a subject scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles should be added to your research to strengthen your final work product.

General Communication Databases at LNDL:

Newspaper Articles

At LNDL both print and electronic databases can provide you access to important newspapers to support your Communications research process.

Curent editions of print newspapers like the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Baltimore Sun are located on the first set of shelving to the immediate right of the Help Desk  Additionally, you can use our Journal Locator to access these publications and more online.

Newspaper Databases at LNDL:

Recommended Social Science Databases

Recommended Marketing / Advertising Specific Databases

Company, Industry, and Country Research

LNDL has several databases helpful for conducting business research specifically related to Company, Industry, or Country data. 

Company, Industry, and Country Databases at LNDL: