Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN200 : Library Research Assignment: Finding Citations

Finding Resources from Citations

So you've found some citations that look relevant to your topic. What next?

Once you've determined what type of source is listed in a citation, you have enough information to look for the item.

Books:

Look for books in Seeker. Search by title or author's last name. Do not use the MLA International Bibliography database to look up a book.

Book Chapters:

Look up the book title (not the chapter title) in Seeker. Do not use the MLA database to look up either the book title or the chapter title. You might find the chapter title, but the database will always, often incorrectly, say that you would need to make an interlibrary loan request. 

Articles:

To find journal articles, search for the journal title on the library homepage to check if the article is available full-text online.

  • Type the name of the journal into the search box, not the title of the article.
  • Select "Journals" from the drop-down menu next to the search box and hit enter. Note: The results page will come up in the database Seeker.
  • If the journal is available online, you will see a list of the databases that provide access, along with years of coverage.
  • Click on a database name to locate the article.
  • If the journal is available in print, there will be a link to "Print Periodicals Collection."

If the journal is neither online nor in print, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request the article from another institution. Note: Articles usually arrive as PDFs within 24 hours. See the Interlibrary Loan tab on this guide for more information.

 

Ask a Librarian

question mark

Your research librarians are here to help!
410.617.6801
askemail@loyola.edu

Chat requires JavaScript.