Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Question 2 of your library assignment is worth 7 out of a possible 20 points (35% of your library assignment grade).
You are asked to search using MLA Bibliography, one of the main literature databases.
For the assignment you will need to demonstrate your ability to use this database to:
- Identify the most important words from your research question to use as search terms
- Combines search terms using both AND & OR
- Complete one single search in MLA Bibliography that compares the use of a theme in two works or in works by different authors.
- Locate relevant scholarly journal articles in your results.
See the MLA Bibliography tutorial for help with these skills.
To find articles on topics related to literature, choose a database from the list below:
Literature Databases at LNDL
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
References to sources on literature, language, linguistics, & folklore (1926-present).
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Critical analyses & biographies of authors.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in literature, performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, & more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in the social, general, & life sciences.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Full-text online dictionary with quotations.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Annotated entries for books, articles, reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and 2010. Citations only.
Is It Scholarly?
Your professor has asked you to use scholarly critical sources in your paper. But how do you know if you've found one? Watch this helpful 5-minute video (courtesy of NC State University Libraries).