Finding Government Data Sources

An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.

An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.

Collections of government data on contraception, sexual health, youth, LGBTQIA, and sexual and intimate partner violence.

Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server from UC Santa Barbara.

Historically, the CDC website has been a reputable source for information and data. In January 2025, some of these resources became unavailable. As the CDC site has become available again, it is unclear what has been removed or modified...Our goal is to provide a resource that includes the information and data previously available.

As the longest running state-by-state analysis of our nation’s health, America’s Health Rankings® provides actionable, data-driven insights to inform public policy, research and news reporting.

Hosting copies of immunization schedules and contraceptive use guidance from the CDC.

ACS NSQIP collects data on surgical outcomes from hospitals and surgical centers. It’s used to measure and improve the quality of surgical care, focusing on patient safety and reducing complications. The program also has a collection of quality improvement case studies.

More than 80 percent of U.S. residents live in urban areas. But until recently, few measures have been available to assess health, the factors that shape health, and the drivers of health equity at the city level. That's where the City Health Dashboard comes in. Our goal is to provide communities and city leaders with an array of regularly updated data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries – such as life expectancy, park access, and children in poverty – to improve the health and well-being of everyone in the community. Must provide contact information in order to download datasets.

The goal of the Congressional District Health Dashboard is to provide policymakers, advocates, and community members with an array of actionable and nonpartisan data at the congressional district level– such as life expectancy, diabetes rates, uninsurance, and children in poverty – to demonstrate strengths and challenges in their regions and drive positive change at the district, state and national level.

The annual data release provides a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work, and play. The snapshots provide communities a starting point to investigate where to make change.

USAID Demographic & Health Surveys. "Due to the on-going review of US foreign assistance programs, The DHS Program is currently on pause. We are unable to respond to any data or other requests at this time. We ask for your patience."

The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020.

Archive of the FDA.gov site prior to January 27, 2025

A robust repository for research data, hosted by Harvard University. Search, or scroll down for subject suggestions.

HCCI, an independent nonprofit research organization, provides data on health care spending, use and pricing from private health insurers. It is widely used to analyze trends in healthcare costs and access for commercially insured populations.

Curated archive of statistics and trends relating to health care journalism.

Preserved datasets and guidances include: The Center for Disease Control (CDC); The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

Based at the University of Washington, IHME is an independent health research organization, with collaborators around the world. It produces research on a range of topics, including air pollution, alcohol use, COVID-19, maternal health and vaccine coverage.

Welch Medical Library's research guide collecting United States data sources, international data sources, and environmental health data sources.

Formerly Kaiser Family Foundation, KFF is an independent source for health policy research, polling and news. It produces reports on a range of topics from COVID-19 to HIV/AIDS, Medicaid, Medicare, the Affordable Care Act and useful resources such as State Health Facts.

NCDB is a joint initiative of the American College of Surgeons and the American Cancer Society. It contains clinical and outcomes data from more than 1,500 accredited cancer programs, covering approximately 70% of newly diagnosed cancer cases in the U.S.

Raw CSV data from the National Institute of Health from 2019 - 2024. Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server from UC Santa Barbara.

Funded by PCORI, an independent, nonprofit research funding organization, PCORnet, is a national patient-centered clinical research network, providing a health data, research expertise and patient insights.

Rural Hospital Data, part of the National Rural Health Association, provides state reports on the impact of federal policies on health care providers and patients. The data shows the annual revenue loss and potential job loss for each care provider based on each policy.

Created by the nonprofit Commonwealth Fund, the Medicaid fact sheets include who and how many people are covered by state Medicaid and CHIP programs; Medicaid’s importance to health care in rural America; how many young people depend on Medicaid for access to behavioral health services; and how many federal Medicaid dollars each state receives.

SciOp is the curated catalog/index of Safeguarding Research & Culture (SRC), an alternative infrastructure for archival and dissemination of cultural heritage and scientific knowledge. Browse or search datasets by keyword.