Research Guides: Occupational Therapy: Finding Articles

Best Bets

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
References to and full text of sources in nursing and allied health disciplines, such as diet, nutrition, physical and occupational therapies. (1982-present).
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed, structured reviews by groups of experts in over 40 clinical specialties who authoritatively review hundreds of studies on topics in their specialty, select those that meet strict EBM criteria, and perform "meta-analyses" when possible on all the included studies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Citations & some full-text articles form journals in many medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Health & medical citations & abstracts (1990-present).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Health & medical information primarily from MEDLINE.

Health Science Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Contains leading pharmacy textbooks, NAPLEX review questions, a multimedia library, drug therapy cases, and more.
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Anatomy.Tv’s Communications Disorder Package is an innovative and medically accurate interactive 3D atlas and clinical reference, making the perfect learning and teaching resource for communication disorder educators, students, and practitioners. This package contains four highly detailed and medically accurate titles which will provide you with everything you need to teach, learn, and practice.
ComDisDOME (Communication Sciences and Disorders Information Service) This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, dissertations, experts, and web sites in speech-language pathology and audiology (Dates vary with some sources going back to the late 70s early 80s).
Nursing Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This resource center for nurses contains Continuing Education Modules on 1300+ topics; information on diseases and conditions, drug information, best practice guidelines, and other topics; handouts designed for patient education; and more.
ScienceDirect: Elsevier Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text to over 600 Elsevier journals in science, business, engineering and medicine (1995-present). Includes backfile of 43 psychology journals dating from 1936.
Elsevier prohibits the use of artificial intelligence in combination with this product.

Specialized Research Tools

Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content with a motto of ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something they aim to deliver for every single search.
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 47,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.
OTseeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
RehabData by NARIC
The REHABDATA database spans almost 50 years of disability and rehabilitation research. More than 200,000 abstracts are available through this database, including approximately 115,000 records originally indexed in the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) database.
SpeechBITE
speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. speechBITE was launched in 2008 by a team of speech pathologists at the University of Sydney who wanted easier access and better appraisal of research evidence in the area of communication and swallowing disorders.
Rehabilitation Measure Database
Containing over 550 measures and supported by some of the world's best doctors, therapists, researchers, and educators, the Rehabilitation Measures Database (RMD) is the go-to resource for measuring benchmarks and outcomes in physical medicine and rehabilitation.

Psychology Databases

DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
Located within the Psychiatry Online database.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Citations for various measurement instruments, such as questionnaires, or rating scales, in the health or psychosocial science fields (1985-present).
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Full-text test descriptions & reviews from Buros Institute (1989-present).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
References to sources in psychology & related fields (1887-present).