Research Guides: Graduate Student Library Resources: Data Management Services

Data Management Services at LNDL

Data Management Services assist students, faculty and staff of Loyola and Notre Dame with the planning, organization, management, and curation of research data to enhance its preservation and access now and into the future

Topics:

Create a data management plan (DMP) to meet funder and publisher requirements
Describe and organize data to make sharing and depositing easier
Identify repositories to access datasets and to deposit your own data

Finding Data for Research

Historical Statistics of the United States
Available online through the Loyola/Notre Dame Library, Historical Statistics of the United States is a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources. Last updated in 1975, HSAS has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series and new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), an international organization of colleges and universities which provide access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data in the areas of political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law occurring in over 130 countries. Special archives on health and medical care, education, aging, criminal justice and substance abuse and mental health available. Note: First-time registration is required for use. You must use your Loyola or Notre Dame email address for this account.
iPoll
A comprehensive database of public opinion information, containing more than 600,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935 from every major survey organization. Includes access to the full datasets on archived surveys.
Policy Map
An online mapping and GIS tool with data on a wide variety of topics including demographics, real estate, health, jobs, and more. Create, save, download, customized maps and tables, or upload your own data to map.
RiskMetrics
Access to the RiskMetrics dataset on the WRDS platform; other financial, economic, and marketing data sources, including the historical financial data from COMPUSTAT and daily stock data from CRSP can be accessed here as well.
Sage Data
Sage Data is the largest single repository of harmonized and structured statistical data available to libraries. This dynamic tool allows users to easily scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. These vast amounts of data are easy to find through a single point of access and easy to analyze with robust search, visualization, and analysis tools.
Sage Explorer
Sage Explorer delivers an expansive collection to support every stage of social science research and learning directly to your library all with unlimited access. Equip your faculty, students, and researchers with a digital collection of over 30,000 cases, videos, datasets, books, courses, and more. The cross-disciplinary nature of Sage Explorer ensures faculty and students will have vast and varied content available to enhance their teaching and research.
Smithsonian Open Access
Access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from the Smithsonian's collections. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Online Edition
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.