Research Guides: Country / International Research: Finding Books

References Books (Online)

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Previously Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Full access to encyclopedias on religion, world biography, countries and cultures, education, American history and foreign policy, public health, aging, law, business and multiculturalism.

Countries and Their Cultures
Entries contain summaries of countries around the world, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Comprehensive coverage of world religions
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Describes and analyzes political, economic, and social systems and institutions. Particular information is devoted to the people who make up the society, their origins, beliefs, values, and interests
World Education Encyclopedia
Survey of educational systems providing details on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Provides information on approximaely 500 cultures of the world, covering twenty different areas of daily life including clothing, food, language, traditions and religion.

Print Books

The Europa World Year Book (Ref. JN1.E85) -- Provides detailed information about history, government, politics and political parties, trade, economics, education, and demographics. It includes names and addresses of organizations, newspapers, and other publications, and people holding office or positions in government and various organizations. Updated annually.

IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook (STACKS HR 1414.W67 2005) -- Annual report providing statistical data, ranking, and analysis on the competitiveness of nations. Provides insights into how a nation's environment creates and sustains the competitiveness of enterprises.

Culturgrams: The Nations Around Us (STACKS GT150.C85) -- Focuses on the culture of the countries covered, presents the daily customs and lifestyle of the society, and also provides information about the political and economic structures.

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands (STACKS HF5389.M67) -- Describes the country background, business practices, protocol, and cultural orientation of sixty countries around the world.

Electronic Books

Electronic books owned by the Loyola/Notre Dame Library can be accessed at any time from any location. If you are accessing an e-book from off-campus, you will need to use your Loyola or Notre Dame credentials to log in. Although many of LNDL's e-books are listed in Seeker and the library catalog, the most direct way to search for e-books is through our E-Book databases.

Some e-books can be downloaded for reading offline on a computer or mobile device. View instructions for accessing e-books.

EBSCO eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic books covering a wide range of scholarly topics
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is an interactive eBook database that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 100,000 titles from more than 220 academic, scientific, medical and professional publishers.
Seeker This link opens in a new window
An all-encompassing database, Seeker searches books and media from our catalog as well as newspaper, magazine and journal articles, business publications and more.

Library Catalog