Skip to main content

Cited Reference Searching & Acceptance Rates : Google Scholar

About Google Scholar

What is Google scholar? Why should I use it?

Google Scholar searches scholarly such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar shows how often an item has been cited within the Google Scholar resource and links to these items. 

Why should I search Google Scholar from the Library web site?

Access to the some of the full text is only available through subscription sources, paid for by the Loyola Notre Dame Library. If you log in to Google Scholar through the library website, you may be able to access these items. If you do not use the library link for off campus access, many of these full text sources will ask for payment.

How can I find items in Google Scholar?

Search Google Scholar just as you would search Google. Just like a search in Google, Google Scholar ranks and lists results according to relevancy--with the most relevant at the top. Google Scholar rankings include how often the work was cited.

How to use Google Scholar and Web of Science to perform a Cited Reference Search

To perform a cited reference search, follow these steps:

1. Start at the library's website at www.lndl.org.

2. Select "Databases" from the Search box in the middle of homepage.

3. Search for Google Scholar and select from the list that appears.

4. Enter your article's title into the Google Scholar search box and select the magnifying glass to search.

5. Locate your article on the results list.

6. First, look at how many sources in Google Scholar cite your article. From under the article's description, select "Cited by #". The next page displays authors in Google Scholar who have cited your article. If a source you want to read is available at LNDL, you'll see a link to the full text on the right. If you do not see a link to the full text, watch this tutorial about searching for journal articles at LNDL. You can also view authors who have cited the authors' in your results list by selecting "Cited by #" or "Web of Science: #" from below the article's description.

7. Next, look at how many source in Web of Science cite your article. Return to the screen with your original article. From under the article's description, select "Web of Science: #". This link leads you to another library database, Web of Science. The results page includes authors who have cited your article. To access these articles, select the Search for Full Text button. You can also view authors who have cited the authors' in your results list by selecting the # beside Times Cited to the right of the article's title.

Google Scholar result

Citation Report

Ask a Librarian

question mark

Your research librarians are here to help!

410.617.6802

askemail@loyola.edu

Chat requires JavaScript.