Skip to main content

Chemistry: Current Awareness

Chemistry News

The latest chemistry news from ScienceDaily.

Loading ...

Database Alerting Services

Database Alerts let you keep up with current research about a topic of interest. There are 3 types of citation alerts. All require that you set up an account in the database. Saved Searches allow you to set up a search and save it. Each time a new article on your topic comes out you will receive an email. Search Alerts are similar but the search is run at an interval you choose, daily, weekly, monthly, etc. Citation Alerts let you know when a seminal work (or one of your works) has been cited by a search alert:

CSA Databases (Biological & Medical Sciences, Engineering Specialties, Toxline, Materials Science)

1. Create and run your search strategy in your chosen indexes.
2. Click the Search History/Alerts button in the lower left frame.
3. Click the Save as Alert link at the upper right of each search for which you'd like an Alert.
4. Fill in the Email Address and Personal Password (make up password and remember it), and click the Continue button.
5. Set your Alert Preferences on the next screen and click the Save Alert button.

BioOne

1. To subscribe to the BioOne journals online issues alert go to their alerts sign up page.
2. Type in your email address, select the journal(s) you wish to be alerted on (to select more than one hold down the control key while you select).
3. Make sure the “subscribe” button is selected and “send” your request.

INSPEC

1. Set up an account in My EBSCOhost in the top left of the page. To create your account, select the "I'm a new user" link.
2. Enter and run a search in a database. From the results list screen, select the "Search History/Alerts" tab just above the first item on the list.
3. Select the “Save Searches/Alerts" link from the menu appearing above your search.
4. Save your search as an alert and name it.
5. You may select the frequency by which the search is run (daily, weekly, biweekly or monthly) for up to one year. Citations to new items matching your search will be delivered to your email address.

ScienceDirect

1. Select the “My Alerts” button near the top of the screen and then select the “Register Now” link on the next page.
2. The database automatically generates a username and sends an email message to confirm your registration. Use your new username and password to login to ScienceDirect and access the “My Alerts” page.
3. From the “My Alerts” page you can create automated searches (Search Alerts) and table of contents alerts for new issues of journals you select from the database (Journal Issue Alerts).
4. ScienceDirect also offers a Citation Alerts service, enabling you to be notified by email when a selected article is cited by new articles in the database.

Table of Contents Services

Table of contents alerts (TOC) automatically e-mail the latest table of contents for your selected journals. This is a great way to keep up to date on new advances in your field without actually receiving a paper copy of the journal.

INSPEC

1. Connect to the database that indexes the journal you're interested in from the Indexes & Databases list.
2. Click on the "Publications" button on the green menu bar at the top of the screen.
3. Browse or search for the journal title and select the title you want.
4. Log onto My EBSCOhost (see above) and click on the "Journal Alert" link in the yellow bar at the far right of your screen.

Kluwer Online

1. You must sign up and login for alerts service. You do not need to create a username or password. Your email address will act as your login.
2. Enter your email address.
3. The only fields required are: title, first name last name, occupation, and country.
4. Click the save and continue button.
5. Clicking on the triangle on the left of each category will expand the list to allow you to choose from a more specialized list of selections and from a list of journal titles. If you would like to sign up using an alphabetical list, click the button on the right.
6. Select journals for which you would like TOC alert service activated.
7. Be sure to click save and continue when you are done selecting. Your preferences will be updated. You will be automatically signed out.

ACM Digital Library:

ACM offers two types of free e-mail alerts: ASAP Alerts - daily or weekly e-mail alerts that are sent when individual articles (Articles ASAP) are released on the Web, prior to being assigned to an issue; and Table of Contents Alerts—e-mail alerts of the Table of Contents (TOC) for specific issues which are sent on the day that the issue is posted on the Web.

To sign up for either of these alerts, go to the http://pubs.acs.org, click on the "sign up for free e-mail alerts" tab at the top of the screen, and follow the instructions. American Chemical Society (ACS):

ACS offers two types of free email alerts:
• My binders: Save search results and queries. Share binders with colleagues and build bibliographies.
• TOC Service: Receive the table of contents via email as new issues of ACM journals, magazines, newsletters, or proceedings become available.

To register for either of these services, log in on the main page, (either at the top of the screen or next to "Personalized Services"), click on "Create my ACM Web Account then the "Continue" button next to "I am Not an ACM or SIG Member," and follow the instructions.

American Mathematical Society (AMS):

To register for this service and to set up your individual profile, follow the instructions at http://www.ams.org/jemail/.